You need a diet for celiac disease. Perhaps you or a loved one has recently been diagnosed with celiac disease and you are trying to figure out what you can eat and what you can't?
Gluten is a general name given to the storage proteins in wheat, barley and rye. A gluten-free diet eliminates these grains and any foods derived from these grains. It is important to be aware of hidden sources in packaged foods and even in mouthwashes, toothpastes and medications.
For your gluten-free diet, here is a quick reference guide for family and friends, as well as replacement equivalents for recipes. Plus, all the foods to allow, question or avoid.
The more you prepare healthy meals from scratch, rather than use packaged foods, the easier it will be.
A quick resource for your diet for celiac disease. This is perfect for your friends and family when they invite you for dinner, or to bring along to restaurants when eating out.
Preparing a gluten-free meal for a person with celiac disease
Celiac disease is a condition in which gluten damages the absorptive surface of the intestine.
People with this condition MUST eat gluten-free meals.
Avoid contamination with products which contain gluten.
Avoid foods containing gluten from wheat, rye, barley, oats and triticale:
Hidden sources of gluten:
Beware of the above ingredients in such foods as:
Chocolate milk and other flavoured drinks may contain wheat starch or barley malt.
Cheese Spreads or Sauces (e.g. Nacho)
May be thickened/stabilized with wheat. Flavourings and seasonings may contain wheat.
Flavoured or frozen yogurt
May be thickened/stabilized with a gluten source. May contain granola or cookie crumbs.
Pure buckwheat flour is gluten-free. Sometimes buckwheat flour may be mixed with wheat flour.
May contain barley malt extract.
May contain oat syrup or barley malt extract.
Some "soba" pastas contain pure buckwheat flour which is gluten-free but others may also contain wheat flour.
Rice Cakes, Corn Cakes, Rice Crackers
Multigrain often contains barley and/or oats. Some contain soy sauce (may be made from wheat).
Some are thickened with wheat flour.
May contain fillers made from wheat starch.
Dry Roasted Nuts
May contain wheat.
Processed Meat Products
May contain fillers made from wheat. May contain HPP or HVP made from wheat.
Often contain wheat or oats.
Dates and other dried fruits may be dusted with wheat flour to prevent sticking.
Fruits/Veg's with sauces / Fruit Pie Fillings
Some may be thickened with flour.
Canned Soups, Dried Soup Mixes, Soup bases and Bouillon Cubes
May contain noodles or barley.
Cream soups are often thickened with flour.
May contain HPP or HVP (from wheat).
Seasonings may contain wheat flour, wheat starch or hydrolyzed wheat protein.
Seasonings may contain wheat flour or wheat starch.
Starch source may be from wheat.
Some instant teas, herbal teas, coffee substitutes and other drinks may have grain additives.
Non-dairy substitutes (e.g., rice drinks and soy drinks) may contain barley, barley malt extract or oats.
Potato, Tortilla Chips and Soy Nuts
Some potato chips contain wheat.
Seasoning mixtures may contain wheat flour, wheat starch or hydrolysed wheat protein.
Contains starch which may be from wheat.
Seasonings, Seasoning Mixes
May contain wheat flour, wheat starch or hydrolysed wheat protein.
May contain malt vinegar which is not gluten-free.
2 cups Brown rice flour
2 cups Sweet rice flour
2 cups Rice polish
Store in an airtight container and use 7/8 cup (215 mL) of the mixture in place of 1 cup (240 mL) wheat flour.
Other Substitutions for 1 Cup (240 mL) Wheat Flour
5/8 cup Potato starch
7/8 cup White or brown rice flour
1 cup Corn flour
1 cup Fine cornmeal
3/4 cup Coarse cornmeal
5/8 cup White or brown rice flour plus
1/3 cup Potato starch flour
1 cup Soy flour plus
1/4 cup Potato starch flour
3/4 cup Rice flour plus
1/4 cup Cornstarch
7/8 cup Whole bean flour
Yield 6 1/3 cups
Sift ingredients together and store in plastic containers. Refrigerate for longer storage periods.
The Canadian Celiac Association
Return From Diet for Celiac Disease to Home Page